Alex Cross Series

In 1993, James Patterson released his 8th book – Along Came A Spider – which introduced the world to Detective Alex Cross.

More than 20 novels later, Cross is one of the world’s most loved characters and series of books, resulting in numerous #1 New York Times bestsellers and movies starring Morgan Freeman and Tyler Perry as the detective.

To help you keep track of the order in which you should read these stories, we’ve produced two lists below of all the stories in the Alex Cross series in order chronologically. The first contains all of the full-length novels, while the second contains any novellas or short stories that he appears in.

The series lists have links to separate pages for each of the books. We have all kinds of information on those pages:

  • The date of publication
  • A description of the story (don’t worry – we haven’t given away any of the twists!)
  • A link to the book on Amazon for you to check out reviews by other readers or to get a copy if you’ve not yet read it
  • A picture of the book’s cover

If you’d like to see a list of all James Patterson’s books in order – not just those featuring Alex Cross – you can find one here.

Alex Cross Series In Order

Full-Length Novels

  1. Along Came A Spider
  2. Kiss The Girls
  3. Jack And Jill
  4. Cat And Mouse
  5. Pop Goes The Weasel
  6. Roses Are Red
  7. Violets Are Blue
  8. Four Blind Mice
  9. The Big Bad Wolf
  10. London Bridges
  11. Mary, Mary
  12. Cross
  13. Double Cross
  14. Cross Country
  15. Alex Cross’s Trial
  16. I, Alex Cross
  17. Cross Fire
  18. Kill Alex Cross
  19. Merry Christmas, Alex Cross
  20. Alex Cross, Run
  21. Cross My Heart
  22. Hope To Die
  23. Cross Justice
  24. Cross The Line
  25. The People vs Alex Cross
  26. Target: Alex Cross
  27. Criss Cross
  28. Deadly Cross

Other Alex Cross Stories

  1. Cross Kill
  2. Detective Cross